Angels Among Us

I wrote this one the other night and I don’t want to edit it because everything about it is so raw and emotional:

I’m not sure how to wrap my head around this yet. I’m out at the bar and went outside for a smoke (I know) and this older man approached my friends and I asking for one. I didn’t have another on me but my friend gave him one. He was pushing a bike so I asked him his name and what he’s up to tonight. He told me that I ask a lot of questions (sup Chicago) and then asked me why. So I said, “I don’t know, you’re just a man who interacted with us and so I wanted to know about who you are. I don’t mean anything by it except what it is.” He just stopped and thanked me for taking the time to care and he told me that my inner beauty far outshines my outward beauty and that he could tell that I am anointed with the spirit of God. We kept chatting and eventually he told me that upon moving to Chicago 10 years ago someone had watched him park his car, broke in, and planted a lot of drugs in it, which he went to prison for. He has been out for three weeks and told me something about the system not providing a promised train pass for his family. It’s $18.50.

I’ve been swindled for money before but something about this man told me that he was an angel, not a con man. My friend had long since gone inside, so I asked the man if I could go inside and get him $20.

I ended up taking out $40 and gave it to him without him knowing there was extra. Then I asked him if we could pray together. We stood on the sidewalk holding hands as I prayed for him and his family and then he jumped in as a total prayer warrior and prayed over me in a way that brought me to tears.

When we were finished praying he told me that I had touched his heart and to never stop loving with my whole heart. That he was proud to know me and that I was a divine intervention in his life for not seeing a racial barrier between us.

We exchanged numbers and he told me to call him if I ever need to pray and to keep letting the light of God shine through me. We parted on his words that my life was about to change. I feel like I just met an angel. I don’t know how else to describe it….

2 thoughts on “Angels Among Us

  1. I do believe there is an angel protecting us as so many times in my life I almost get into a major accident and an unexplainable reason I was safe as in nothing happened. So perhaps you are right so long as you believe in it.
    Pray do wonders of course. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment